harpcolumn

Boieldieu harp concerto question

Log in to your Harp Column account to post or reply in the forums. If you don’t have an account yet, you’ll need to email us to set one up.

Home Forums Forum Archives Professional Harpists Boieldieu harp concerto question

Viewing 10 posts - 1 through 10 (of 10 total)
  • Author
    unknown-user
    Participant

I’m learning the Boieldieu harp concerto.

unknown-user
    Participant

well I’m just learning it as well, and i was listening to a recording
    of zabaleta playing it, and at the very beginning of the 3rd
    movement, it sounds like he takes the first note of the “series”in
    the right hand with the left-you know, the note that comes twice
    then. I’ve found that I can jump with the left hand easily and it’s
    easier for the right hand as well. I don’t have the sheet music
    here right now, but I can check what fingerings I’m using for you.
    some of them (with a bit of practice ;-) ) work fine. Katrina

keziah-thomas
    Participant

I was using the Ricordi edition but now have the Billaudot edition. It has been revised by Marielle Nordmann and has some great fingering.
    I’ve been practising it all morning so next time i’ll be thinking of you! Ps. re the octaves at the end Marielle has a bracket round some so I think she’s suggesting splitting them between the hands and leaving leaving out a line….if i’m correct…..yipee!!!!!!!

Anton Sie
    Participant

Hey Lisa,

How nice, I especially love the first movement. I actually don’t like the third one so much…though I would skip the octave parts on the last page! If you’re not a Varvara Ivanova, you would ruin your hands by playing those! I’ve practiced it, but I would never be able to play it in high speed. In the “happy” cadenza, I play actually half of the octaves: those on the lower stave of the first page of the cadenza, but not those that are on the second stave, for example.