harpcolumn

Best Teaching Method for Adults – Harp Olympics?

Log in to your Harp Column account to post or reply in the forums. If you don’t have an account yet, you’ll need to email us to set one up.

Home Forums Teaching the Harp Best Teaching Method for Adults – Harp Olympics?

Viewing 15 posts - 1 through 15 (of 17 total)
  • Author
    Neka Borders
    Participant

Hello,

I wonder if any teachers on the forum have thoughts, or experience teaching (adults) using Harp Olympics? 1. Why would you use/not use this method? Or, 2. Can you recommend any method(s) you like to use for a begining adult student? I’m a begining student, not well versed in the various methods of study, but I’d like to engage some informed (internal) thought on this before moving ahead. It took A LOT for me to get to a place where I can indulge the harp journey, and I am taking it very seriously. I thank you for your comments and thougths on this topic.

Regards,

Neka

Neka, as a harp teacher for 50 years, I teach all ages and over the years I find no two students begin with me at the harp with the same backgrounds. Some adults have had years of piano, some come from flute or French horn, some require basic music knowledge. Also, some respond better to a printed page; some learn better copying the teacher or listening to music. Can you reveal to us in this forum, what level of music knowledge you might

Neka Borders
    Participant

Greetings,