harpcolumn

Bent string?

Log in to your Harp Column account to post or reply in the forums. If you don’t have an account yet, you’ll need to email us to set one up.

Home Forums Harps and Accessories Bent string?

Viewing 12 posts - 1 through 12 (of 12 total)
  • Author
    Suzie Q
    Participant

I am going through and changing the strings on my pedal harp. Its been almost two years since I got it, so my teacher said its due to be re-strung. However, one string that I put on (and this is my first time re-stringing) seems more yellow than the others – it is the 5th octave E. Also, when uncurling it from the packaging, it kinked a bit. So there is a place about half-way down the string that is a tad rough and also discolored to a white color…since the string kinked before I put it on.

Is this string now faulty? Because of the kink and the small rough patch? It is not large, and does not affect my playing, nor does there seem to be a difference in sound, but I do not wish this to break, or become faulty sooner.

Thoughts?

barbara-brundage
    Participant

As long as it isn’t false, go ahead and use it, but it will probably break much sooner than it would otherwise. It’s pretty important to try very hard not to crimp strings when putting them on. A sharp bend like that makes a weak spot where it happened.

Suzie Q
    Participant

Thanks for your insight. Would your best advice be to replace this string sooner rather than later? Otherwise, I can leave it on, and possibly change it in about 1 year instead of 2 years, just to make sure it doesn’t break on its own.

And yes, I am now being especially careful with the other strings.

Tacye
    Participant

I would leave it on.

Suzie Q
    Participant