harpcolumn

Beginner harp – Stoney End Eve vs. Camac Bardic 27

Log in to your Harp Column account to post or reply in the forums. If you don’t have an account yet, you’ll need to email us to set one up.

Home Forums Harps and Accessories Beginner harp – Stoney End Eve vs. Camac Bardic 27

Viewing 12 posts - 1 through 12 (of 12 total)
  • Author

Hi!

I’m gonna start playing the harp soon, it’s been a dream for many years so I’m very excited! 😀 I’ve read as much as I could, and this forum has been a great help – thank you!!!!! I apologize for another post on which beginner harp to buy, I hope you don’t mind. I have no musical background so I’m a little lost here and your advise would be greatly appreciated. Thanks for reading! 🙂

So, I want a lever harp and it must be small as I want to carry it with me to play outdoors. I’m down to 2 models:

Stoney End Eve 22 strings (G-G) (3,5 kg)
    Camac Bardic 27 strings (6 kg)

Now, my heart’s set on the Eve, but many say 22 strings isn’t good for a beginner… 🙁 It’s just that I love EVERYTHING about it, and KNOW I’ll buy one someday anyway – I knew ever since I saw and heard it! I LOVE the sound!!!!! And the looks! 🙂 Just AMAZING!! String tension not too high. Also I know I’ll take up wire harp someday and so I’m gonna have to learn to play with fewer strings anyhow?