harpcolumn

Aspiring Harpist!

Log in to your Harp Column account to post or reply in the forums. If you don’t have an account yet, you’ll need to email us to set one up.

Home Forums Forum Archives Amateur Harpists Aspiring Harpist!

Viewing 14 posts - 1 through 14 (of 14 total)
  • Author
    HBrock25
    Participant

Hi everyone,
    I am new to the harp forums and would love to have your advice on a few things before I actually decide to purchase one in the near future. I do not want to purchase one and not being satisfied with the sound and things.
    First of all, I am 26, but I do have a strong background in music. I am a piano player, so, would this make it easier to learn the harp, despite my age?
    Second, I am more of a classical/instrumental kind of person, so, I was also wondering what type of harp would be best for that style of music, since I have noticed that some harps have more of a celtic/folk sound (which is something that I am not interested in playing).
    Thirdly, I live in Eastern Canada, and teachers for classical style harps are hard to find. I have done searches online for a while now, and still, nothing, unless I’m interested in learning on a celtic harp. Are there any teachers located around here that I haven’t come across in an internet search that you may be able to recommend for me?
    Lastly, since I am a piano player, would I be able to acquire and master proper technique without instruction in person? I am DYING to learn the harp, and have wanted to learn one since I was a kid, but I have never owned one, or even seen one around here. I took piano lessons when I was young, but learned everything else on my own afterword. Is the harp any different? Would you need constant feedback regarding proper technique and things?
    Oh, and one more thing. Is it best to rent one before purchasing? I don’t know of any place around here that even sells harps, so, I won’t have the opportunity to try it out before getting it.