harpcolumn

arpeggio help

Log in to your Harp Column account to post or reply in the forums. If you don’t have an account yet, you’ll need to email us to set one up.

Home Forums How To Play arpeggio help

Viewing 12 posts - 1 through 12 (of 12 total)
  • Author
    allegra
    Spectator

I am a beginner working on learning to play arpeggios. The problem is that I have quite short thumbs. When I cross my third finger under, in order to move onto the higher octaves, my thumb just barely reaches the previous string (bad enough when it’s a third, as in root position or first inversion, and almost impossible when it’s a stretch of a fourth in second inversion). It’s all squashed up and it means there’s no room for the thumb to bend, or anywhere for it to articulate, or any power at that angle. As a result, I can make almost no sound at all on the thumb. Any suggestions? thanks.

Tacye
    Participant

What does your teacher say?

Place the 3rd lower on the strings so you have vertical distance to play with. Place your thumb on C and 3rd on E and freeze your hand – keeping it the exact position rotate around the thumb tip to place the 3rd on the E above. You should have just as much room to play the thumb as you did when the 3rd was below. If this doesn’t work I would want to change your basic hand position.

Tacye
    Participant

I should add that that is only the fastest way I could think of describing a rough approximation to a hand position that might work – it will need tweaking!

allegra
    Spectator