Anyone have an opinion on cross-strung harps?

Posted In: Amateur Harpists

• Participant
    unknown-user on #160016

Am wanting to learn harp and while researching harp manufacturers, I
    came across a cross-strung harp, which has no need for tuning levers,
    since all the chromatic notes are there.

Participant
    amy-walts on #160017

Hi Deb.
    I myself don’t play cross-strung harp, but I did meet up with Harper Tasche (who is outstanding
    on the cross-strung) in Canada this year and listened to him speak at length about his, and got to
    give it a quick try. I’m by no means an expert, but I may be able to give you a very rudimentary
    overview. The cross-strung is a fabulous instrument, but you may find a good deal of difficulty
    finding a way to learn it, as not very many people play it (compared with more conventional
    harps), and even fewer teach it. There are a few books and videotapes that are supposedly
    available, but the ones I’ve seen go on the assumption that you’ve already got some harp
    experience under your belt– they’re not geared towards people completely new to harping.
    So even teaching yourself may prove difficult. Playing the cross-strung harp is very, very
    different from playing “regular” harp, in that the hand positions are all different. One needs to think
    “in three dimensions”, as your hands not only need to find the right place horizontally on the harp,
    but also vertically in order to select the right combinations of strings above and/or below the
    cross. While sitting at the harp, the string at the low left set is continued at the high right set, and
    the strings beginning on the right end on the left, etc, so that the basic chord patterns for the two
    hands are opposites. One must learn specialized (and different) hand positions for each hand
    and each chord, therefore, which are often named after letters, like “v” , based on which fingers