Any self taught harpists here? BAD HABITS!

Posted In: Young Harpists

• Participant
    elly-mccabe on #166068

Hello!

I’ve been playing my harp(s) since January this year, and have come along really quickly. I did a lot of reading online about hand techniques and the basic structure of

Participant
    emily-mcintyre on #166069

Hi Elly! I’m impressed by your courage in posting a video and asking for feedback, as well as your motivation in learning on your own. Do you have any instructional books? These often have great discussions of hand and arm position, finger placement, etc. I like Laurie Riley’s “Basic Harp for Beginners”. Sylvia Woods’ classic “Teach Yourself to Play Folk Harp” is a good one too, progressing a little more slowly.

In watching your performance I see a lot of originality in both your arrangements and your approach to the music. The harp kept slipping, which obviously inhibited your freedom in playing. I’d recommend finding a better way to stabilize the harp; a sit-on board with non-slip fabric on the harp end is one way to go.

Initially I would advise lifting your elbows and your thumbs while keeping your palm approximately directed toward the soundboard. Also when you’re writing your arrangements try to utilize all fingers (1-4). It seems you never use the fourth finger of your left hand and are thus missing out on an essential element in folk music: the bass note. Kim Robertson has a great book on arranging for the folk harp, and Pamela Bruner has written a book on self-accompanying vocals with the harp. All are available on Amazon.com I think.

Good luck Elly, and keep up the exciting work. The folk harp is wide-open; while there are more physiologically sound ways of playing, your style is of course up to you. Keep listening and keep creating.

Participant
    unknown-user on #166070

Hi Elly,
    I enjoyed your video!