column

Another “new” harpist says hello to you!

Home Forums Coffee Break Another “new” harpist says hello to you!

Viewing 11 posts - 1 through 11 (of 11 total)
  • Author
    Anja G
    Participant

Hello to you all!
    I was a silent reader for some time and now registered.
    I just wanted to say hello to you and introduce myself shortly :-)
    I am a German amateur harpist, played the piano and flute since my childhood. The harp was always my dream. I have a degree in History and German Literature, and while working in cultures I made my dream come true and took harp lessons. I have 2 small children, so I had a break with harp lessons and practicing. I lent a 34 string lever harp built by a friend and played for myself. I will start with lessons again in August and am very happy to have again found a great teacher. I like this forum very much and though I only started with the harp as an adult and my level is much under yours I hope I can contribute a bit :-)
    Best
    Anja

jessica-wolff
    Participant

Congratulations! You will have your hands full with two small children, but it’s good for them to see their mother doing something like playing the harp.

I’m originally German too, though I’ve been in the U.S. for most of my life. I play guitar, harp and banjo–learned them in that order–with considerable hiatuses in between. I love all three, but if I were limited to just one instrument (God forbid!), it would be the harp.

Sylvia
    Participant

Hi Anja.

Anja G
    Participant

Hi Jessica, yes, my days are duly completed with children and work, but I try to take the time for my harp, it`s so relaxing, calming, fulfilling … . The kids, es pecially the elder one, are also “playing” (that is pulling the strings carefully and listening to the nice sounds) the harp from time to time.
    Where in Germany do you come from, and do you sometimes still come over here?

Anja G
    Participant

Hello Sylvia,