Amplification

• Participant
    kentishlass on #172859

Hi! I’m a newb. Been coveting a small therapy harp for years, and borrowing anyone’s I can in the mean time, and am finally about to get one. I’ve plumped for a Harpsicle Fullsicle because the tone sounds fab for the modest budget I have. My question is about amplification. I’m planning on playing at events, and am wondering how best to amplify: built-in pick-up, clip on pick-up or external mic? I’ve never tried to amplify anything before, I’ve always been strictly acoustic. The Harpsicle comes with a choice of two built-in pick-ups. Is there really a difference? And they imply it can only be installed at installation.l Is that true? Has anyone tried to add a pick-up later? Any advice or thoughts much appreciated! Thank you for reading.

Participant
    randal on #185803

I’m searching the posts for solutions to this question.

I’m in the same position as kentishlass: I’m playing at a market in a few weeks and wish to use a small lap harp with amplification. As I’m playing other acoustic instruments, I commonly simply apply a little piezo-contact with putty to the soundboards and off we go.. It’s not the optimal solution by any means – merely super convenient, cheap and easy (it’s not a concert, but merely a winter market). These little piezos do an amazing job for as simple and inexpensive as they are – the biggest concern is getting an appropriate amplifier and preamp system.

Eric Allison on #186536

I’m just about to order a Fishman Loudbox Mini on the recommendation of DHC. I’m still undecided about a pickup though. Fishman makes the (SBT-HP) for harp; but the Big Twin at KK Sound has good reviews and includes two attached piezos.

Then there are the CH-3 Artist and Dualie both designed by Shatten. Argh, choices, why are there so many choices!? This is almost as confusing as choosing the harp itself.

Participant
    randal on #186561

I so would like one of those…or a Roland, or other…