harpcolumn

Advice for a new player

Log in to your Harp Column account to post or reply in the forums. If you don’t have an account yet, you’ll need to email us to set one up.

Home Forums How To Play Advice for a new player

Viewing 11 posts - 1 through 11 (of 11 total)
  • Author
    danielle-matl
    Participant

Hey, I am really new to playing harp. I just started renting and could use a little advice. If I can’t find a teacher what would be the best way to start teaching myself? Are there any books or videos you would recommend? I have a lap harp, and am interested in celtic music. Anything would help. Thanks!

Gretchen Cover
    Participant

Check out Josh Layne’s Harp Tuesday on youtube or his website: http://www.joshlayne.com

Sherj DeSantis
    Participant

Try to find a teacher you like for SKYPE lessons, so you have help with your technique. It’s not a perfect solution, but it might work for you. Good luck. Sherj

susan-rutherford
    Participant

I’ve been taking lessons via skype with Susan Zevenbergen for several years now (http://www.myharpsdelight.com/). It’s been great! One of the best aspects is continuing with the same teacher even after I moved from Alaska to Canada, and she moved from San Diego to Denver. Josh Layne’s videos are wonderful, and he also offers lessons on skype. I really encourage you to find a teacher – proper technique is so important to learn at the outset. I tried to teach myself initially, but quickly realized I could develop some very bad habits without a teacher!

Anonymous
    Inactive

Hi Danielle,