harpcolumn

Advice – First Harp

Log in to your Harp Column account to post or reply in the forums. If you don’t have an account yet, you’ll need to email us to set one up.

Home Forums Harps and Accessories Advice – First Harp

Viewing 6 posts - 1 through 6 (of 6 total)
  • Author
    sarahch
    Participant

Hello everyone,

I’m new to the forum, I am just about to start my journey of learning to play the harp. It is something that I have wanted to do for a few years now and I am so excited to begin! I would like to start lessons shortly and I am looking for my first (second hand) harp. I have seen this Camac lever harp which has a crack for an affordable price (see photo). Does this look like something that would certainly need repairing, and if so would it be costly? The strings have recently been changed. Since I have no experience, I would really appreciate any advice you can offer on this. Many thanks, Sarah

Attachments:
    You must be logged in to view attached files.
    kk195223
    Participant

I recommend that you reach out to Camac or its US distributor Virginia Harp Center and seek their advice.

I would be quite hesitate to purchase any harp with a crack.

wil-weten
    Participant

I would be very wary to buy a harp with a crack in it. From the damage at the backside of the neck I guess it has fallen and that may have resulted in yet unseen more damage.

Also, this harp is more than 30 years old, perhaps 35 or more years. These red white blue plastic levers are theoretically not adjustable (though one could get some adjustment by doing something to the bridgepin and so change the distance between the string without and the string with the lever on. These plastic levers are rather stiff and not great for flipping while playing.

Also, newer Camacs, let’s say those built since about 2010 sound nicer.

Also of importance: what kind of music would you like to play? E.g. Classic, celtic and/or folk?