harpcolumn

A nice "jam along" for all new Pooh Bears

Log in to your Harp Column account to post or reply in the forums. If you don’t have an account yet, you’ll need to email us to set one up.

Home Forums How To Play A nice "jam along" for all new Pooh Bears

Viewing 3 posts - 1 through 3 (of 3 total)
  • Author
    hearpe
    Participant

This is now, quickly, the greatest age for learning music!
    With youtube we have access to endless numbers of instructional videos in all kinds of music instrument and style, as well as countless performance videos to watch and maybe take a grain or two of knowledge from.
    I’m pretty much a beginner, although I have some basic knowledge of music structure- the keys and notation and three chord theory, etc, I’ve gotten on other instruments through the years.
    So with a newer harp in hand I’ve been on youtube just feeling things out. It CAN be a humbling and even discouraging experience if you let it- there’s tons of performance I could never hope to reasonably replicate in the little time I have remaining in this current tent of flesh.
    I was perusing mostly performance and some performance vids and avoiding this “relaxing harp” category of music, thinking I’d be making the best use of my time other wise, until one of them started playing automatically after another video:

I picked up my harp on the bed- I can still play a 29 there, but I’m fairly large, and thought I’d pluck along. So here’s this very tonal piece on playing I find it’s based on D and move the levers there, sharpening C and F.