harpcolumn

Bach fugues for the harp?

Log in to your Harp Column account to post or reply in the forums. If you don’t have an account yet, you’ll need to email us to set one up.

Home Forums Repertoire Bach fugues for the harp?

Viewing 15 posts - 1 through 15 (of 47 total)
  • Author
    Anonymous
    Inactive

Hello everyone, 😉

Firstly, I’d like to point out that I’m not a harpist, I’m a pianist, an amateur pianist who’s been playing the piano for a little over 11 years now, but I also deeply love the harp, thanks partly to an old classmate in senior high school who was studying to become a professional harpist.

I’m no longer in touch with her, but during the time our friendship lasted, she made me realize just how many pieces from the literature of other instruments (the piano included, of course) could be successfully transcribed for solo harp, and how the harp repertoire has been, and is, enormously enriched by this.

So, my question is: would it be possible to transcribe Bach’s “The Well-Tempered Clavier” for solo harp? Mind you, I don’t exactly mean the whole thing, because I imagine some of the most complex fugues (the two five-part ones come to mind) might be next-to-impossible to transcribe for only one harp, (?) but perhaps most of the preludes, as well as some fugues.

The question is probably stupid, but like I said, I’m not a harpist, and while I love the instrument and its repertoire, I’m afraid I don’t really know much about the way it works to really have a good idea about all its capabilities and limitations. I do know a bit about a few things, like the pedals, how they are used to give the harpist the possibility of playing chromatically, and not just diatonically, but my knowledge is, overall, very limited.

And yet, I can’t help but thing that more than a few of the pieces in Bach’s WTC could work for solo harp, since Catrin Finch already managed to transcribe the Goldberg and the Italian Concerto! 🙂

Cheers,
    Adolfo

Tacye
    Participant