harpcolumn

34 String lever harps in UK for beginners

Log in to your Harp Column account to post or reply in the forums. If you don’t have an account yet, you’ll need to email us to set one up.

Home Forums Harps and Accessories 34 String lever harps in UK for beginners

Viewing 11 posts - 1 through 11 (of 11 total)
  • Author
    oxalis
    Participant

Hello everyone,

I’m a beginner harpist looking to buy my first harp. I’ve had a lesson with a really great teacher and done a lot of research online that has led me to the decision that for my needs I’d really like to buy a 34 string fully-levered harp. I live in the UK and don’t have a big budget, £2000 is my absolute limit but I would rather spend less. I also don’t want to buy something that wont actually work or will break so that narrows down the options. I realise how expensive good quality harps are to produce so I’m not complaining, just being honest about my situation.

So I’ve narrowed my search to two different options, all with pros and cons.

1) Morley (Elysian) Hempson 34 – £1500
    This looks like a really well priced harp from an established brand. I was wondering whether anyone here has experience with this harp? I read a forum post here about someone whose lever broke. Does anyone know whether the levers are good quality? Looking around the internet there seems to have been a few issues with the occasional string buzzing or lever going out of alignment, but they all seem to have occurred a couple of years ago at least. This seems to be the best option for what I’m looking for, but I’d love any input if anyone knows anything about this harp 🙂

2) Teifi Siff Saff 34 – £2000