ASTA Solo Competition Winners


Abigail Kent is the First Prize harp winner in the Senior Division of the American String Teachers Association’s 2015 National Solo Competition. Senior Division finalists also included Chelsea Lane, who received Second Prize, and Elisabeth Zosseder, who received Honorable Mention.

Kent was selected as one of six Laureate Finalists to perform in the live final round of the competition, held March 20 in Salt Lake City. As a Laureate Finalist, she received a $1,000 prize and performed the first two movements of the Bach Lute Suite in E Minor, Sérénade by Parish-Alvars, and Danse des Lutins by Renié. “I was thrilled and honored to be a part of the ASTA National Convention,” says Kent. “Abravanel Hall had such beautiful acoustics for solo harp—a rare treat for a harp student. For me, the performance was exhilarating! I believe this is a very worthwhile event for harpists.” Kent currently attends the Curtis Institute of Music, where she studies with Elizabeth Hainen.

Clara Warford was the Junior Division First Prize winner, and Katherine Damon received an Honorable Mention in the Junior Division. For more information visit



About Author

The Harp Column Staff has been bringing you great editorial content, interviews, features, and reviews since 1993!

1 Comment

  1. patty-ritter on

    Congratulations to Clara Warford on this wonderful honor! She is the student of my friend, Carol McClure, Artistic Director of The Harp School, Inc, in Nashville, TN.

Leave A Reply

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.