American Harp Society Foundation announces 2022 competition repertoire


The American Harp Society Foundation has announced the repertoire for its 2022 competitions, the Anne Adams Awards and the Grandjany Memorial Competition. Applications are due March 1, 2022. The location and date of both competitions are to be announced.

The Anne Adams Awards chooses three winners to receive a $2,000 scholarship award for full-time study of the harp. The competition is open to harpists who are enrolled full-time in colleges or universities through a master’s degree, and competitors must be members of the American Harp Society.

The Grandjany Memorial Competition is open to harpists who are 35 or younger as of March 1, 2022. The competition will have one winner, with an award amount to be determined.

Anne Adams Awards Repertoire


  • Concert fantasy on Lara’s Granada, Carlos Salzedo
  • Sonate pour harpe, Germaine Tailleferre
  • “Etude No. 8, Bourrée” from Études for Harp, J.S. Bach, trans. M. Grandjany

Orchestra/Ballet (both are required):

  • Invitation to the Dance, Op. 65 (entire harp 1), Carl Maria von Weber (Berlioz orchestration)
  • Tzigane, Maurice Ravel
    • Quasi cadenza — 4 to 5
    • 4 before 8 to 8 (4 measures)
    • 12 to 14
    • 19 to end

Grandjany Memorial Competition Repertoire

  • Fantaisie sur un thème de J. Haydn, Op. 31, Marcel Grandjany
  • Dans la forêt du charme et de l’enchantement, Op. 11, Marcel Grandjany
  • Siciliana, Ottorino Respighi (trans. M. Grandjany)

The 2020 Anne Adams Awards and Grandjany Memorial Competition were held virtually, due to the COVID-19 pandemic. Kaitlin Miller, Juan Riveros, and Claire Thai were selected as the three winners of the 2020 Anne Adams Awards, with Heather Cornelius named an honorable mention. The 2020 Grandjany Memorial Competition prize was awarded to Hannah Cope Johnson.

Visit the Foundation’s website for more information and the application.


About Author

The Harp Column Staff has been bringing you great editorial content, interviews, features, and reviews since 1993!

Leave A Reply

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.