Israel Competition Announces Repertoire for 2015


Florence Sitruk, Artistic Director, together with the Music Committee of the International Harp Contest in Israel announced the required repertoire for the 19th Harp Contest to be held Nov. 19–Dec. 3, 2015 in Israel. The required repertoire includes:

1st stage:

Choice of one:
• Jean-François Dizi (1780-1847) Grande Sonate pour la harpe (Ed. Marielle Nordmann, Durand) (With repeats)
• W. A. Mozart, (1756-1791) Sonata in F-Major for piano, KV332 (300k) (Arr. for harp by Maria Luisa Rayan, L&H editions or any other) (Without repeats)
• Paul Hindemith (1895-1963), Sonata for Harp (1939) (Schott Edition)
• Henriette Renié (1875-1956), “Contemplation” and “Danse des Lutins” (L&H Edition)
• A new Israeli commissioned piece by The Propes Foundation. To be published by 31 December 2014.

2nd stage:

• Giovanni Battista Pescetti (1704-1766), Sonata in c-minor (Original version for harpsichord, will be put on the website) (No repeats in the 2nd movement)
• Elias Parish Alvars (1808-1849), Sérénade for harp, op. 81 (Edition Billaudot)
• Darius Milhaud (1892-1974), Sonata for harp (Edition Max Eschig)
• Choice of one:
a) Carlos Salzedo – Variations on a theme in the Ancient Style, op. 53 (Ed. Leduc)
b) Marcel Tournier – any complete Suite of “Images” (Ed. Lemoine)
c) Elena Kats-Chernin – Chamber of Horrors (Australian Music Centre)
d) Luciano Berio – Sequenza (Universal Edition)
e) Heinz Holliger – Präludium, Arioso & Passacaglia (Schott)
A piece of your own choice, not to exceed 10′ (May be of any century, may be a transcription, may also include video, media, electronics)

3rd stage:
Chamber music—recital for harp and string quartet

• Marcel Tournier (1879-1951), Féerie, Prélude et Danse, for harp & string quartet (String quartet parts will be on the website for download)
• Antonio Vivaldi (1678-1741), Concerto in D Arr. for harp & string quartet by A. Bax (Lyra Music Company)
• Choice of one:
André Caplet, Le Masque de la Mort Rouge, Conte Fantastique (1907/8) (Editions Durand)
Sergiu Natra, Sonata in one movement, for harp & string quartet (1999) (Harposphere, Paris)
Murray Shaffer, Theseus harp & string quartet (1983) (Arcana Editions, Canada)

Final stage:
The Final Stage will be performed with The Israeli Philharmonic Orchestra conducted by Nir Kabaretti.

Choice of one:
• Ami Ma’ayani – Concerto Symphonique (1966, Ed. Boosey & Hawkes)
• Elias Parish Alvars – Concerto op. 98 in E-flat Major (Ed. Lyra)
• Jorge Malats, “Serenata espanola”, arr. by Marielle Nordmann (Ed. Durand)

For more information, visit the competition’s website at


About Author

The Harp Column Staff has been bringing you great editorial content, interviews, features, and reviews since 1993!

Leave A Reply

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.